India Virat Kohli and fast bowler Ashish Nehra were named in the International Cricket Council(ICC) team of the tournament. Virat Kohli was named the captain of the ICC World Twenty20 XI team, the ICC announced on Monday. Jasoy Roy and Quinton de Kock were named the openers in the playing XI while Kohli, Joe Root, Jos Buttler form the middle order of the team. Andre Russell and Shane Watson were the all-rounders in the team while the bowling unit consists of Mitchell Santner, David Willey, Samuel Badree, Ashish Nehra and Mustafizur Rahman.

Kohli was named player of the tournament in ICC World T20 2016 for his 273 runs from five matches, including three fifties against Pakistan, Australia and West Indies. Nehra, who had last played international cricket in India during the 2011 World Cup, was outstanding with the new ball and in the death. The left-arm seamer picked five wickets and conceded less than six runs an over through the five matches. Virat Kohli, not surprisingly, was named captain of the star studded team. He was the talk of the tournament for his temperament and consistency.

The teams were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and highly respected commentators like Nasser Hussain, Ian Bishop and Sanjay Manjrekar. They were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections. The men’s team, including 12th man, contained four players from England, two players each from India and the West Indies, and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and South Africa. Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman, who finished with nine wickets from the tournament, was named the 12th man.

India may not have gone past the semi-finals of the ICC World Twenty20 but two of their players Virat kholi and Ashish Nehra selected in the team of the tournament.