Shashank Manohar was elected as International Cricket Council (ICC) chairman on Thursday. Shashank Manohar as first independent chairman the International Cricket Council’s (ICC). Shashank Manohar had earlier this week resigned as the president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. He had also stepped down as the interim chairman of the ICC. According to ICC rules, an independent chairman cannot hold two positions as a cricket head. Shashank Manohar nominated chairman of ICC, a post which he held since November by virtue of being the BCCI’s representative to the ICC.

Shashank Manohar said: “It is an honour to be elected as the Chairman of the International Cricket Council and for that I am thankful to all the ICC directors who have put their faith and trust in my abilities. I also take this opportunity to thank all my colleagues in the BCCI who have supported me during my recent time as the BCCI’s President.”

According to the election process, ICC directors were each allowed to nominate one candidate, who had to be either a present or past ICC director. Nominees with the support of two or more Full Member directors would have been eligible to contest the election, which was scheduled to have been concluded by 23 May. However, given that Shashank Manohar was the sole nominee for the position and the Board has now with the agreement of all people supported his appointment, the independent Audit Committee Chairman, Mr Adnan Zaidi, who has been overseeing the election process, has declared the process complete, and Shashank Manohar the successful candidate.

Shashank Manohar was elected as International Cricket Council chairman for the period of two years.

Image Source: