Roger Federer won his eighth Wimbledon singles title to create history!

Wimbledon Championships have been held at the All England Club in Wimbledon, London, since 1877 and is played on outdoor grass courts. Wimbledon is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments, the others being the Australian Open, the French Open and the US Open. Since the Australian Open shifted to hardcourt in 1988, Wimbledon is the only Major still played on grass. Wimbledon traditions include a strict dress code for competitors and Royal patronage. The tournament is also notable for the absence of sponsor advertising around the courts. In 2009, Wimbledon’s Centre Court was fitted with a retractable roof to lessen the loss of playing time due to rain.

In The 2017 Wimbledon Championship, the total prize money rose by 12.5% to £31,600,000, with the Gentlemen’s and Ladies’ Singles Champions each receiving £2.2 million, a 10% increase from £2.0 million in 2016. The 2017 Wimbledon Championships was a Grand Slam tennis tournament that took place at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon, London, United Kingdom. The main draw matches commenced on 3 July 2017 and concluded on 16 July 2017.

The 2017 tournament was the 131st edition of the championships and played on grass courts.

The final results are: Gentlemen’s Singles is won by Roger Federer. Ladies’ Singles was won Garbiñe Muguruza. The winners of Gentlemen’s Doubles were Łukasz Kubot and Marcelo Melo while of Ladies’ Doubles were Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina. The title of Mixed Doubles went to Jamie Murray and Martina Hingis.

Roger Federer won his eighth Wimbledon singles title and created history when he became the first man in Wimbledon’s 140-year history to lift the trophy eight times.

In 2016, he took six months out to allow his knee injury to heal. With the defeat, Cilic became the fifth player to lose against Federer in a Wimbledon final.


You may also like...