India’s Mariyappan Thangavelu created history by winning a gold medal and Varun Singh Bhati clinched the bronze medal in the men’s high jump T42 event at the Rio Paralympics. Mariyappan Thangavelu won gold with a jump of 1.89m while  Varun Singh Bhati’s best jump of 1.86m won bronze. The silver medal was picked up by American Sam Grewe. India’s other medal prospect Sharad Kumar finished at number six.

Mariyappan Thangavelu’s gold medal is India’s first-ever gold in high-jump at the Paralympics. He now becomes only the third Indian Paralympian to win the medal, after swimmer Murlikant Petkar achieved the feat at the 1972 Heidelberg Games and then javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia finished on top of the podium at the Athens Games in 2004.

According to an NDTV report, Mariyappan Thangavelu hails from a small village in Tamil Nadu, was left permanently disabled after a bus ran over his right leg at the age of five, crushing his knee. Varun Singh who suffers from poliomyelitis, which is a deformity in one leg. In 2014, Varun Singh won gold at the China Open Athletics Championship and finished fifth at the Asian Paralympic Games in Incheon, South Korea.

The Sports Ministry had earlier announced that Indian gold medallists from the Paralympic Games will be awarded Rs 75 lakh, the silver medallists will get Rs 50 lakh while Rs 30 lakh will be given to the bronze medallists, As a reported by TOI.

Mariyappan Thangavelu wins gold medal in men’s high jump T-42 at Rio Paralympics while Varun Singh Bhati won the bronze.

Featured Image: Source