Monday, June 14, 2021
Curating stories worth sharing

BCCI announce India squads for Zimbabwe series and West Indies tour.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday to announce the India squad for the upcoming Zimbabwe…

By Administrator in Sports on May 24, 2016

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday to announce the India squad for the upcoming Zimbabwe series and the West Indies tour. India are set to play three ODIs and three T20s against the Zimbabwe from June 11-22, and a four-match Test series against West Indies in July. Mahendra Singh Dhoni is one of the most senior players who will be a part of the squad as all big names have been rested for the tournament.

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan may not feature during the Zimbabwe series. Hence, young player like Shreyas Iyer, Karun Nair and Krunal Pandya might get a chance to represent India, giving them a wonderful opportunity to shine and impress the national selectors. Consistent IPL 2016 performers have a good chance to feature in the squad.

As expected, a callow 16-member team has been picked for three ODIs and three T20 internationals in Zimbabwe, starting June 11. The series gives an opportunity to the BCCI and the selectors to assess bench strength and the likes of KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah and Barinder Sran have been picked for Zimbabwe series.

Squad for Zimbabwe series: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Lokesh Rahul, Faiz Faizal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal

Squad for West Indies tour: Murali Vijay, Gautam Gambhir, KL Rahul (wk), Suresh Raina (c), Yuvraj Singh, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harbhajan Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Ambati Ruyudu, Krunal Pandya, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma

Team India is scheduled to play three-match ODI as well T20 series against Zimbabwe from June 11 to 22, 2016.

Image Source:

(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)