India star batsman Virat Kohli name has been recommended for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award by the Board of Control for Cricket in India. The BCCI has also recommended Ajinkya Rahane name for the Arjuna award. Virat Kohli, who received the Arjuna Award in 2013, got the nomination after he guided India to the World T20 semifinals.

Virat Kohli is in excellent batting form at the moment and has become the go to gentleman in Indian cricket. Having replaced MS Dhoni as India’s regular Test captain mid-way during the Australian tour in 2014-15, Virat Kohli led India to an impressive series win in Sri Lanka before blanking the then number one Test playing nation, South Africa, by a 3-0 margin at home.

Ajinkya Rahane, he has been consistent with his innings in recent times and achieved 100 in both innings in fourth Test against South Africa in Delhi. Ajinkya Rahane is currently playing for IPL team Rising Pune Supergiants and with 280 runs is sixth on IPL 2016 top scorers’ list. Viart Kohli will become the third Indian cricketer after batting legend Sachin Tendulkar (1997-98) and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2007) to receive the award.

The Khel Ratna carries a prize money of Rs 7.5 lakh along with a citation, while the Arjuna award consists a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and a citation.

Image Source: